Skip to content

IslandTech Victoria ~ F@ck Stats, Make Art Re-cap

December 3, 2009

Dave Olson at Island Tech in Victoria I loaded up my old-timey suitcase and made my way (by aeroplane no less) to Victoria to share my musings with the folks at a tech exhibit/tradeshow/conference called Island Tech 2009. I was invited by Clayton Stark and he brought in an A-list of speakers who flew from many locations to rock the crowd with fresh-fish thinking.

Add these renegades to your roster: @kk , @claytonstark, @willharbin, @mikevardy, @mediathtmatters, @jmckenty, @kurt_cagle + bonus appearence by @LloydBudd

Dave Olson and the old timey suitcase by KKThe video is apparently gonna make it to the web soon but alas the event photographer didn’t get any snaps of me but my cohort (and co-presenter) Kris Krug grabbed some snaps from the trip.

Bit o’ Bloggage

Mandell Degerness – Tech Thoughts

The final presention of the day was truly “Out of the Box”.  Dave Olson challenged us to embrace the “translucency” of the web and express ourselves to the best of our ability.  It’s not the sort of talk I would have attended based on the synopsis, but Clayton was raving about this guy.  I’m glad I went.  Dave was, by far, the most entertaining and engaging speaker of the day.  I learned a little history and took on a new appreciation for some of the artists of the past and the present.  Most importantly, I feel challenged to not let my creative side slip away under the pressures of work and family.  Thanks, Dave.

Selected Micro Updates

karenrivers8:23 AM Nov 14th Great time at #islandtech. Loved @claytonstark, fabulous talk (am not biased). Fun to meet @kk & hear @uncleweed‘s take on creativity.

beautifugarbage – @uncleweed is killing it!! 5:11 PM Nov 13th

jmckenty – Lovin the nuance that @uncleweed is bringing – embrace translucency. 5:09 PM Nov 13th

kk – Man… @uncleweed is rockin his ‘Fuck Stats. Make Art.’ presentation at #IslandTech. One of the audience members just brought him a Corona. 4:53 PM Nov 13th

nealcropper - @uncleweed allowed me to pick out a new hero for me from his mannila envelope and I got Ed Abbey, desert caretaker. Time to google him. 5:04pm, Nov 13

claytonstark – @joshuamckenty @kk @mikevardy @kurt_cagle @uncleweed @mediathtmatters you beautiful, brilliant people completely made my day #islandtech 8:59 PM Nov 13th

Slides for your persual

Miscellania

Finally, not quite a “review” but … it’s Meta/Trev:

Island Tech had an all-star cast all it’s own (except for Mike Vardy, who spoke at both!). Kurt Cagle spoke about Peak Oil. Kris Krug spoke about open source in terms of social change. Joshua Mckenty gave some great insight into teams (a personal favorite subject of mine). Bill Weaver spoke of the amazing story of the albatross bird. Raul has even liveblogged a previous recent speech of Bill’s, largely similar to what took place at Island Tech. Finally, Clayton Spark, of Flock, spoke of asynchronous communication. I missed Dave Olson’s talk, but I hear it was awesome. Next time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

